H.Res.972 & S.Res.670 – 2020 PCOS Awareness Month Resolution

View Cosponsors | How to Contact Your Representatives | Media Inquiries
Become an Organizational Partner or Grassroots Advocate for H.Res.972 & S.Res.670


PCOS Challenge: The National Polycystic Ovary Syndrome Association worked with U.S. Congressmen David Scott (D-GA-13), Roger Marshall (R-KS-1) and 58 other leaders in the U.S. House of Representatives to introduce resolution H.Res.972. PCOS Challenge also worked with Senators Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), David Perdue (R-GA) and 15 other leaders in the U.S. Senate to introduce S.Res.670.

H.Res.972 and S.Res.670 recognize the seriousness of polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS), the need for further research, improved treatment and care options, and for a cure for PCOS. H.Res.972 and S.Res.670 also designates September 2020 as PCOS Awareness Month. Over the last several years, the PCOS resolutions introduced in the U.S. Congress and state legislatures have helped PCOS Challenge increase the number of PCOS activities and events across the country 100-fold and are leading to increased awareness and prioritization of the disorder.


PCOS is one of the most pervasive and underserved public health issues that threatens the mental and physical health, and quality of life of girls, women and their families. The disorder can lead to infertility, lifelong complications, psychosocial disorders and some of the most common causes of death in women including type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease and cancer. This resolution is critically important because more than 50% of women with PCOS are going undiagnosed. Awareness, early diagnosis and intervention and research can help to prevent or lessen the complications and progression of serious chronic illnesses connected to PCOS. It is imperative that we make PCOS a public health priority Please encourage your Congressperson and Senators to cosponsor H.Res.972 and S.Res.670.


To move H.Res.972 forward and out of committee, your representatives need to hear from you and your family to understand why PCOS is a critically important issue. As a constituent, you have a powerful story to tell about your own experience with PCOS or that of someone close to you.


  • Step 1. Find your Congressperson by entering your zip code and address at www.house.gov.
  • Step 2. Check to see if your Congressperson is already a cosponsor of H.Res.972 (see cosponsor list on the below).
  • If your Congressperson is NOT already a cosponsor of H.Res.972, please complete the form at the following link to send a personalized letter that we will deliver to your Representative’s office – PCOSChallenge.org/write-rep.
  • If your Congressperson is already a cosponsor of H.Res.972, please still complete the form at the following link to send a personalized “thank you” letter that we will deliver to your Representative’s office – PCOSChallenge.org/write-rep.‚Äč


We also encourage you to call your Representative’s office about cosponsoring H.Res.972.

  • 1) Identify your U.S. Congressperson at www.house.gov by your address and zip code.
  • 2) Call your Congressperson’s office, let the person who answers the phone know that you are a constituent and would like to speak to the “health staffer.”
  • 3) Tell the health staffer, “I am a constituent and would like the Representative to cosponsor H.Res.972, which recognizes the seriousness of polycystic ovary syndrome, the need for further research, and for improved treatment and care options for women and girls with PCOS. H.Res.972 also designates September 2020 as PCOS Awareness Month. This resolution is important to me because [explain why PCOS is important to you, someone you know or your patients].
  • 4) If the health staffer is not available, leave a voicemail with your contact information and the message in #3 immediately above.
  • 5) Continue to follow up and ask your family and friends who live in the same district to follow up as well until your Representative signs on as a cosponsor. Persistence pays off!


H.Res.972 Sponsor

Rep. David Scott [D-GA-13]


Rep. Roger Marshall, M.D. [R-KS-1]*

Original Cosponsors*

Rep. Betty McCollum [D-MN-4]*
Rep. Raul M. Grijalva [D-AZ-3]*
Rep. Thomas R. Suozzi [D-NY-3]*
Rep. Gwen Moore [D-WI-4]*
Rep. Nanette Diaz Barragan [D-CA-44]*
Rep. John Lewis [D-GA-5]*
Rep. Filemon Vela [D-TX-34]*
Rep. Jenniffer Gonzalez-Colon [R-PR-At Large]*
Rep. Peter A. DeFazio [D-OR-4]*
Rep. Jeff Fortenberry [R-NE-1]*
Rep. Mark Pocan [D-WI-2]*
Rep. Rick W. Allen [R-GA-12]*
Rep. Anthony G. Brown [D-MD-4]*
Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz [D-FL-23]*
Rep. Bill Foster [D-IL-11]*
Rep. Brian K. Fitzpatrick [R-PA-1]*
Rep. Eliot L. Engel [D-NY-16]*
Rep. Steve Cohen [D-TN-9]*
Rep. Andy Levin [D-MI-9]*
Rep. Abby Finkenauer [D-IA-1]*
Rep. Rashida Tlaib [D-MI-13]*
Rep. A. Drew Ferguson IV [R-GA-3]*
Rep. Doug Lamborn [R-CO-5]*
Rep. Earl Blumenauer [D-OR-3]*
Rep. Mike Gallagher [R-WI-8]*
Rep. Gerald E. Connolly [D-VA-11]*
Rep. Donald M. Payne Jr. [D-NJ-10]*
Rep. Cynthia Axne [D-IA-3]*
Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA-40]*
Rep. Jody B. Hice [R-GA-10]*
Rep. James P. McGovern [D-MA-2]*
Rep. Marc A. Veasey [D-TX-33]*
Rep. David B. McKinley [R-WV-1]*
Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA-13]*
Rep. Bennie G. Thompson [D-MS-2]*
Rep. Ruben Gallego [D-AZ-7]*
Rep. Sanford D. Bishop Jr. [D-GA-2]*
Rep. Nydia M. Velazquez [D-NY-7]*
Rep. Joyce Beatty [D-OH-3]*
Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA-2]*
Rep. Peter T. King [R-NY-2]*
Rep. Bobby L. Rush [D-IL-1]*
Rep. Rick Larsen [D-WA-2]*
Rep. Wm. Lacy Clay [D-MO-1]*
Rep. Grace Meng [D-NY-6]*
Rep. Henry C. “Hank” Johnson Jr. [D-GA-4]*
Rep. Yvette D. Clarke [D-NY-9]*
Rep. Al Green [D-TX-9]*
Rep. J. Luis Correa [D-CA-46]*
Rep. G. K. Butterfield [D-NC-1]*
Rep. C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger [D-MD-2]*
Rep. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell [D-FL-26]*
Rep. John A. Yarmuth [D-KY-3]*
Rep. Albio Sires [D-NJ-8]*
Rep. Abigail Davis Spanberger [D-VA-7]*
Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester [D-DE-At Large]*
Rep. Jose E. Serrano [D-NY-15]*
Rep. Brendan F. Boyle [D-PA-2]*


Rep. Emanuel Cleaver [D-MO-5]
Rep. Jamie Raskin [D-MD-8]
Rep. Tom Cole [R-OK-4]
Rep. Susan A. Davis [D-CA-53]
Rep. Jerrold Nadler [D-NY-10]
Rep. Janice D. Schakowsky [D-IL-9]
Rep. Susan Wild [D-PA-7]
Rep. Max Rose [D-NY-11]
Rep. Theodore E. Deutch [D-FL-22]
Rep. Jahana Hayes [D-CT-5]
Rep. David Loebsack [D-IA-2]
Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA-27]
Rep. Elaine G. Luria [D-VA-2]
Rep. Ken Calvert [R-CA-42]
Rep. Mike Levin [D-CA-49]
Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA-41]
Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton [D-DC-At Large]
Rep. Andy Biggs [R-AZ-5]
Rep. Robert E. Latta [R-OH-5]
Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA-51]
Rep. Scott H. Peters [D-CA-52]
Rep. Joe Neguse [D-CO-2]
>Rep. David J. Trone [D-MD-6]
Rep. Chrissy Houlahan [D-PA-6]
Rep. William R. Timmons IV [R-SC-4]
Rep. Andy Kim [D-NJ-3]
Rep. Robert J. Wittman [R-VA-1]
Rep. Kathy Castor [D-FL-14]
Rep. John B. Larson [D-CT-1]

S.Res.336 Sponsor

Sen. Elizabeth Warren [D-MA]


Sen. David Perdue [R-GA]*

Original Cosponsors

Sen. Benjamin L. Cardin [D-MD]*
Sen. Kelly Loeffler [R-GA]*
Sen. Cory A. Booker [D-NJ]*
Sen. Deb Fischer [R-NE]*
Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]*
Sen. Susan M. Collins [R-ME]*
Sen. Tammy Baldwin [D-WI]*
Sen. James Lankford [R-OK]*
Sen. Chris Van Hollen [D-MD]*
Sen. Richard Blumenthal [D-CT]*
Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]*
Sen. Jacky Rosen [D-NV]*
Sen. Kyrsten Sinema [D-AZ]*
Sen. Gary C. Peters [D-MI]*

PCOS Challenge Support NetworkJoin Now!